Tara West

YA paranormal/fantasy and New Adult author

To my once beloved, but now broken, Kindle

2 Comments

UPDATE! It wasn’t the Kindle but the charger. Weird, because that charger still works on my phone. But I’ve got my Kindle back. Squeee!!!

My dearest Kindle,

This is one of the hardest letters I’ve ever had to write. I don’t know how things went so terribly wrong between us. All of those heartfelt moments of joy, sorrow, excitement, and even (gasp) a few shades of pleasure–did those feelings we shared mean nothing to you? I have tried to reason with you. I’ve charged you for several days now, and your battery remains low, cool, aloof. How could you do such a thing, Kindle?

Your betrayal has forced me back into the arms of my old flame, paperback books. And even though the pleasure I glean from them doesn’t yield quite so many emotions, at least paperbacks are reliable, unlike you, fickle Kindle. I should also tell you that I almost cut my finger twice last night on the hard and unforgiving edges of my paper book. All of this could have been avoided, Kindle, hadn’t you betrayed my trust.

It seems like it was only yesterday (actually last week) that we were laughing at that poor woman trying to read her Nook underneath the harsh rays of the afternoon sun while we were waiting for our children after school. My ereader did not have a glare as I enjoyed unobstructed reading pleasure. We shared a good laugh that day, didn’t we Kindle?

I have been a good reader to you, haven’t I? I’ve read you nearly every day, sometimes for hours at a time. I even bought you that special case to keep you protected from the cluttered and often unpredictable elements of my purse. And this is what I get in return for my loyalty? Stuck at four percent for the past two days?

I am hurt, saddened, disappointed, angry and bloated. But my PMS has nothing to do with this. I just thought you should know.

My friends have told me I simply need to call Amazon and they will replace my Kindle. And even though I hate the notion of giving you up, and of reloading all of those books back onto my new ereader, this relationship simply isn’t working. And so it is with great sadness, that I must tell you goodbye, dear Kindle. And though your betrayal pains me (in addition to my PMS), when I think of you, I will try to recall the fond memories we’ve shared.

Your loyal, yet hurt, saddened and disappointed, friend

Tara

Author: tarawestauthor

A former Texas high school teacher, Tara enjoyed coaching her writing team and even the hectic deadlines that came with running the school publications. After taking a break to raise her baby girl, Tara now works from home as a cover artist. In her spare time, Tara loves to read, exercise and spend time with her family and friends. She contributes the cover art for her own novels and has designed covers for over 500 other books. She’d love for you to visit her at www.tarawest.com where you can check out her Whispers series and sample her artwork.

2 thoughts on “To my once beloved, but now broken, Kindle

  1. Hey ! Dont worry, you may be able to fix your Kindle. My problem is not quite the same as yours but if your Kindle is out of warranty you can carry out a factory reset though if less than one year old I would go for a new one.

    Here is what happened to my Kindle …..My Keyboard Kindle screen froze . I just googled for a solution and found one on the first page of links. I followed the advice and got to reset my Kindle and its working fine again. Its all in my blog which I have hyperlinked to below. NOTE if you have files you want to keep and do the factory reset all files will be lost. From memory if you want to keep any files or bookmarks etc its..
    1. Hold the power slider over to the right for up to one minute ( when the frozen screen goes white you are ready for ……)
    2. Press the delete button and ytour Kindle should be restored. I opted for a full reset for which……
    3.Hold down the home button until a new screen pops up, this will allow you to type in RESET , then follow instructions until the Kindle reboots.

    anyway good luck and here is the blog-link..

    http://bakersfieldlad.wordpress.com/2012/10/20/when-your-kindle-krashes/

Leave a Reply

